Portrait, movies, and more

Re: Portrait and difficult reading in general – I had this thought this weekend. Reading is a lot like life. In life you never know what the important moments are, you never see them coming, and you can’t plan for them so you just try to be aware as much as possible of what is going on so that you can look back and say, “there it was, I didn’t see it coming but I am glad I was aware for it.”  Similarly, in reading you never know what the important moments are so you just try to take in as much as possible. Live for life’s sake, read for reading’s sake.

Treat yourself this Thanksgiving weekend. Look up the showtimes for Arrival, look up the Sapir-Whorf hypothesis, read a quick blurb about it, then go to the theatre discussing it with friends. See Arrival and come out contemplating language as a means to knowledge and the ways in which language shapes our world. (“The limits of my language are the limits of my world.” – Ludwig Wittgenstein)

Make sure you have your copies of Descartes, Fish, and Kuhn ready for after Thanks break. And don’t forget to check out the articles for December on the previous post.

